About Us

The Amherst Student is the newspaper of Amherst College. Established in 1868, The Student is the oldest independent weekly college publication in the country, with over 2,000 copies circulated per issue. The Student is published every Wednesday of the academic year, with the exception of vacations and exam periods, and is distributed to members of the College and the communities of Amherst, Hadley and the Five College Area free of charge, as well as to alumni and parents by subscription.

The Student is written, produced and published by an all-volunteer team of dedicated Amherst students: mostly underclassmen, with several upperclass mentors to guide the process. As an independent publication, The Student and its staff are committed to a standard of conscientious reporting and quality writing.

The Student welcomes any and all Amherst students who wish to contribute to the newspaper. If you are interested in writing for a section of The Student, please contact the appropriate managing editor(s). If you are interested in the publishing and business management of The Student, please contact the publishers. If you are interested in copy editing, layout, photography or website management, please contact the editors-in-chief. General questions may be directed to astudent@amherst.edu or at 413-206-9319.

Editors-in-Chief
Emmett Knowlton (wknowlton15@amherst.edu)
Brendan Hsu (bhsu15@amherst.edu)

Managing News
Elaine Vilorio (evilorio17@amherst.edu)
Sophia Murguia (smurguia17@amherst.edu)

Managing Opinion
James Liu (jtliu16@amherst.edu)
Julia Milmed (jmilmed15@amherst.edu)

Managing Arts & Living
Meghan McCullough (mmccullough15@amherst.edu)
Lizzie Paul (epaul16@amherst.edu)

Managing Sports
Nicole Yang (nyang16@amherst.edu)
Andrew Knox (aknox16@amherst.edu)

Associate Editors
Nicole Chi
Karl Greenblatt
Annalise Nurme
Michael Osorio
Clara Yon

Publishers
Mary Byrne (mbyrne15@amherst.edu)
Nazir Khan (nkhan15@amherst.edu)

Senior Editors
Brianda Reyes
Alissa Rothman
Chris Friend
David Walchak

Design Editors
Brendan Hsu
Brian Beaty
Andrew Kim