Amanda Tobin ’17 is an Art major. Her thesis examines her life story and faith through a variety of artistic mediums. Her advisors are Dave Gloman and Doug Culhane from the art department and Daniel Hall from the English department.

Professor Harris Daniels is a Professor of Mathematics on the tenure track after several years as a visiting professor. He holds a B.S. in mathematics and philosophy from Trinity and a M.S. and Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Connecticut.

Following a contentious presidential campaign season, Donald Trump’s victory on Nov. 8 was met with a wide range of reactions at the college, ranging from disbelief and fear to celebration.

Award-winning Indian journalist Palagummi Sainath gave a talk titled “Inequality and the Rise of Rural Distress” on Oct. 19. The event, held in Fayerweather Hall, focused on the growth of economic inequality in rural areas of India, as well as the social implications of these trends. The talk was free and open to the public.

Sainath was introduced by Professor of Political Science Amrita Basu, who mentioned Sainath’s 40 national and international awards and his professorship at the Asian College of Journalism in Chennai, India.

The Association of Amherst Students held elections to select senators from the classes of 2017, 2019 and 2020 on Sept. 28.

The senators elected to represent the class of 2020 are Jordan Edwards, Greg Franklin, Sade Green, Billy Jang, Natalia Khoudian, Lauren Knight, Daniel Njoo and Jenine Shepherd. Two students from the Class of 2018, Fernando Lopez and Phillip Yan, were also elected. In addition, Samuel Wolansky ’17 and Mohammed Ibrahim ’17 were chosen as write-in candidates, since no senior student campaigned for senate.