It was a drizzly May morning in Beneski, and Matt DeButts was one of many seniors basking in post-thesis glory, enjoying the brief respite between the due date for his law, jurisprudence and social thought thesis and the onset of finals. But while most seniors might have regaled me with tales of the arduous research process, the intricacies of their argument or the late nights spent in Frost, DeButts did not. In fact, over the course of our hour-long interview, he never once brought up his thesis — which I only later learned is about abandoned spaces in Philadelphia and New Orleans.

The Judiciary Council has voted to void the results of the Association of Amherst Students presidential election, leaving the AAS temporarily without a president.

Juniors Donna Leet and Xiaoling Yu have been honored by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship program, which supports undergraduate students studying mathematics, science and engineering. Leet, a biology and French double major, has received one of this year’s Goldwater Scholarships. Yu, a biochemistry and biophysics major, received an honorable mention.

Both come from families of scientists, and both are pre-med students interested in conducting biomedical research.

Professors Rick López and Lyle McGeoch will assume positions as class deans starting July 1, President Martin announced last week.

López, an associate professor in the History Department, has been named Dean of New Students. McGeoch, the Brian E. Boyle ’69 Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science, has been appointed Dean of the Class of 2017.

During their three-year terms as class deans, both professors will advise students in their respective classes, take on administrative responsibilities in student affairs and teach one class per semester.

Six days after a complaint about campaign expenditures forced the Association of Amherst Students to delay the release of executive board election results, the Judiciary Council has voted to dismiss the complaint and uphold the results of last Tuesday’s runoff election. Amani Ahmed ’15 has been elected president, and Juan Gabriel Delgado Montes ’16 has been elected vice president for the 2014-15 academic year.

Current and former Williston residents will gather together next Friday for the pilot event in a planned series of “Take Your Room Out” dinners.

The newly renamed Office of Student Affairs made its official debut on the second floor of Converse Hall Tuesday afternoon, welcoming students, faculty and staff to an open house at the office’s new location.

Visitors trickled in throughout the middle of the day, munching on pastries and entering their names to win raffle prizes. At night, the Office of Student Affairs invited members of the community to an ice cream social in the Converse Hall lobby.