Men's Cross Country Finishes First at ECAC Championships
Issue   |   Wed, 11/11/2015 - 00:31
Clarus Studios
Steven Lucey '17 took second place at the ECAC meet this weekend.

Steven Lucey ’17 helped lead the men’s cross country team to a first-place finish in the 40-team field at the Eastern College Athletic Conference championship meet this past weekend.

The top five finishing teams at the race featured Amherst’s fellow NESCAC competition with Williams taking second place followed by Middlebury in third, Colby in fourth and Tufts rounding out the top five.

Lucey finished the race in 26:24, finishing just four tenths of a second behind the first-place finisher but a full six seconds ahead of the third-place runner. He earned first place at the 2014 meet.

Sophomores Jack Wesley and Justin Barry turned in strong performances for the Jeffs, both finishing within the top 10. Wesley earned fifth place with a time of 26:55 while Barry followed closely behind in eighth place at a time of 27:01.
Scott Nelson ’18 and Cosmo Brossy ’19 also both factored into the scoring for Amherst.

Nelson posted a 16th-place finish amongst the 277 competing runners, crossing the finish line in 27:20.
Brossy finished nine seconds later good for 22nd overall.

Two first-years also impressed on the day for the purple and white. Kristian Sogaard raced to a time of 28:01, earning 52nd overall. Kevin Dooley notched a 75th-place finish by completing the race in 28:32.

Amherst returns to competition this Saturday, Nov. 14 when they’ll travel to Connecticut College to compete in the NCAA Div. III Northeast Regional meet. The race is slated to begin at 12:30 p.m.

Last year, Amherst took second place among the 54 teams competing at the meet. Mohamed Hussein ’18 will look to continue his stellar sophomore campaign by following up on an impressive showing at the meet last year. Hussein took fourth place out of 373 runners in 2014.

The NCAA regional meet is the Jeffs’ last regular season meet before they head to Winneconne, Wisconsin to compete at the NCAA Div. III Championships.